The Media Commission

Foto der LfM-Medienkommission
The Media Commission

The Media Commission is the principal organ of the The Media Authority of North Rhine-Westphalia. It was reconstituted on 27 February 2015.

The committee comprises 41 members (each with a deputy) from socially relevant groups and associations. Eight of the members are nominated by the NRW State Parliament. Professor Werner Schwaderlapp was selected as Chairman. He had already held the post of Chairman since April 2014. Christiane Bertels-Heering remains his deputy. The members of the Media Commission render their services on a voluntary basis and represent the general public.

The Media Commission approves the budget and staffing plan of the Media Authority of North Rhine-Westphalia and takes decisions regarding authorisations and licensing, funding, transmission capacities and the installation of cables.

The period in office of ordinary members and their deputies is six years.


For the purpose of preparing decisions, the Media Commission has formed the following five committees: The Committee for Programming and Supervision; the Committee for Diversity and Participation; the Committee for Media Literacy and Community Media; the Committee for Media Development and Regulation and the Committee for Budget and Finance.