What is the ERGA?

The abbreviation "ERGA" stands for the European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services. This Group is composed of the regulatory authorities of the 28 EU member states and was established in 2014 by resolution of the EU Commission.

The ERGA's task is assisting the European Commission as an advisory body in the consistent implementation and application of the Audiovisual Media Services Directive (AVMS), which is our European media law. Additionally, it allows its members to exchange their experiences and successes in the application of the legal framework for audiovisual media services and provides them with relevant up-to-date information.

As such, the ERGA has an advisory role and in this context releases papers and statements addressed to the Commission which are also made available to stakeholders. Furthermore, it makes assessments on topics of current relevance to media regulation.

In December 2019 Dr. Tobias Schmid, Director of the Media Authority of North Rhine-Westphalia and European Affairs Commissioner for the German media regulators, was elected Chair of the ERGA and thus will be heading up this international body in the coming year. The board also comprises representatives from the French, Spanish, Swedish, and Slovakian governments. 


In the year to come, their work will underline the following topics:

  • Effective law enforcement on the Internet
  • Disinformation
  • Retrievability of online content